Silversmote Ghoul
Creature — Zombie Vampire
At the beginning of your end step, if you gained 3 or more life this turn, return this card from your graveyard to the battlefield tapped.
, Sacrifice this creature: Draw a card.
Being trapped between two forms of unlife is a fate worse than mere death.
Bryan Sola
Commander 2021 (C21)
• #154Rulings
Silversmote Ghoul's first ability looks at how much life you've gained in the turn, even if it wasn't on the battlefield or in your graveyard when you gained life. It doesn't care if you also lost life, even if you lost more life than you gained.
(wotc • 2020-06-23)
If Silversmote Ghoul isn't in your graveyard as your end step begins, its first ability won't trigger at all.
(wotc • 2020-06-23)
If you haven't gained 3 life by the time your end step begins, Silversmote Ghoul's first ability won't trigger at all.
(wotc • 2020-06-23)
Rulings
Silversmote Ghoul's first ability looks at how much life you've gained in the turn, even if it wasn't on the battlefield or in your graveyard when you gained life. It doesn't care if you also lost life, even if you lost more life than you gained.
(wotc • 2020-06-23)
If Silversmote Ghoul isn't in your graveyard as your end step begins, its first ability won't trigger at all.
(wotc • 2020-06-23)
If you haven't gained 3 life by the time your end step begins, Silversmote Ghoul's first ability won't trigger at all.
(wotc • 2020-06-23)