Marchesa's Emissary
Creature — Human Rogue
Hexproof (This creature can't be the target of spells or abilities your opponents control.)
Dethrone (Whenever this creature attacks the player with the most life or tied for most life, put a +1/+1 counter on it.)
"The Black Rose doesn't tolerate weeds."
Tyler Jacobson
Conspiracy (CNS)
• #21Rulings
Dethrone doesn't trigger if the creature attacks a planeswalker, even if its controller has the most life. The same is true if the creature attacks a battle, even if its protector has the most life.
(wotc • 2023-07-28)
Once dethrone triggers, it doesn't matter what happens to the players' life totals before the ability resolves. You'll put a +1/+1 counter on the creature even if the defending player doesn't have the most life as the ability resolves.
(wotc • 2014-05-29)
In a Two-Headed Giant game, dethrone will trigger if the creature attacks either player on the team with the most life or tied for the most life.
(wotc • 2014-05-29)
The +1/+1 counter is put on the creature before blockers are declared.
(wotc • 2014-05-29)
Rulings
Dethrone doesn't trigger if the creature attacks a planeswalker, even if its controller has the most life. The same is true if the creature attacks a battle, even if its protector has the most life.
(wotc • 2023-07-28)
Once dethrone triggers, it doesn't matter what happens to the players' life totals before the ability resolves. You'll put a +1/+1 counter on the creature even if the defending player doesn't have the most life as the ability resolves.
(wotc • 2014-05-29)
In a Two-Headed Giant game, dethrone will trigger if the creature attacks either player on the team with the most life or tied for the most life.
(wotc • 2014-05-29)
The +1/+1 counter is put on the creature before blockers are declared.
(wotc • 2014-05-29)