Marchesa's Infiltrator
Creature — Human Rogue
Dethrone (Whenever this creature attacks the player with the most life or tied for most life, put a +1/+1 counter on it.)
Whenever this creature deals combat damage to a player, draw a card.
"Secrets, like coins, are easy to steal."
Lucas Graciano
Conspiracy (CNS)
• #22Rulings
Dethrone doesn't trigger if the creature attacks a planeswalker, even if its controller has the most life. The same is true if the creature attacks a battle, even if its protector has the most life.
(wotc • 2023-07-28)
Once dethrone triggers, it doesn't matter what happens to the players' life totals before the ability resolves. You'll put a +1/+1 counter on the creature even if the defending player doesn't have the most life as the ability resolves.
(wotc • 2014-05-29)
In a Two-Headed Giant game, dethrone will trigger if the creature attacks either player on the team with the most life or tied for the most life.
(wotc • 2014-05-29)
The +1/+1 counter is put on the creature before blockers are declared.
(wotc • 2014-05-29)
Rulings
Dethrone doesn't trigger if the creature attacks a planeswalker, even if its controller has the most life. The same is true if the creature attacks a battle, even if its protector has the most life.
(wotc • 2023-07-28)
Once dethrone triggers, it doesn't matter what happens to the players' life totals before the ability resolves. You'll put a +1/+1 counter on the creature even if the defending player doesn't have the most life as the ability resolves.
(wotc • 2014-05-29)
In a Two-Headed Giant game, dethrone will trigger if the creature attacks either player on the team with the most life or tied for the most life.
(wotc • 2014-05-29)
The +1/+1 counter is put on the creature before blockers are declared.
(wotc • 2014-05-29)