Gadwick, the Wizened
Legendary Creature — Human Wizard
When Gadwick enters, draw X cards.
Whenever you cast a blue spell, tap target nonland permanent an opponent controls.
His name is spoken only in whispers—but he hears just the same.
Colin Boyer
Throne of Eldraine (ELD)
• #48Rulings
If Gadwick enters the battlefield without being cast, or if it was cast for a cost other than its mana cost, the value of X for its first ability is 0.
(wotc • 2019-10-04)
Gadwick's second ability resolves before the spell that caused it to trigger. It resolves even if that spell is countered.
(wotc • 2019-10-04)
Gadwick's triggered ability won't trigger when you cast it because it's not on the battlefield yet.
(wotc • 2019-10-04)
Rulings
If Gadwick enters the battlefield without being cast, or if it was cast for a cost other than its mana cost, the value of X for its first ability is 0.
(wotc • 2019-10-04)
Gadwick's second ability resolves before the spell that caused it to trigger. It resolves even if that spell is countered.
(wotc • 2019-10-04)
Gadwick's triggered ability won't trigger when you cast it because it's not on the battlefield yet.
(wotc • 2019-10-04)