Beacon Bolt
Sorcery
Beacon Bolt deals damage to target creature equal to the total number of instant and sorcery cards you own in exile and in your graveyard.
Jump-start
Titus Lunter
Guilds of Ravnica (GRN)
• #154Rulings
If any exiled cards you own are face down, they have no characteristics. If they're normally instants or sorceries, they won't be counted.
(wotc • 2018-10-05)
If a card with jump-start is put into your graveyard during your turn, you'll be able to cast it right away if it's legal to do so, before an opponent can take any actions.
(wotc • 2018-10-05)
A spell cast using jump-start will always be exiled afterward, whether it resolves, it's countered, or it leaves the stack in some other way.
(wotc • 2018-10-05)
Beacon Bolt is still on the stack while you count your instant and sorcery cards in your graveyard and in exile. It doesn't count itself.
(wotc • 2018-10-05)
If an effect allows you to pay an alternative cost rather than a spell's mana cost, you may pay that alternative cost when you jump-start a spell. You'll still discard a card as an additional cost to cast it.
(wotc • 2018-10-05)
You must still follow any timing restrictions and permissions when casting a spell with jump-start, including those based on the card's type. For instance, you can cast a sorcery using jump-start only when you could normally cast a sorcery.
(wotc • 2018-10-05)
Rulings
If any exiled cards you own are face down, they have no characteristics. If they're normally instants or sorceries, they won't be counted.
(wotc • 2018-10-05)
If a card with jump-start is put into your graveyard during your turn, you'll be able to cast it right away if it's legal to do so, before an opponent can take any actions.
(wotc • 2018-10-05)
A spell cast using jump-start will always be exiled afterward, whether it resolves, it's countered, or it leaves the stack in some other way.
(wotc • 2018-10-05)
Beacon Bolt is still on the stack while you count your instant and sorcery cards in your graveyard and in exile. It doesn't count itself.
(wotc • 2018-10-05)
If an effect allows you to pay an alternative cost rather than a spell's mana cost, you may pay that alternative cost when you jump-start a spell. You'll still discard a card as an additional cost to cast it.
(wotc • 2018-10-05)
You must still follow any timing restrictions and permissions when casting a spell with jump-start, including those based on the card's type. For instance, you can cast a sorcery using jump-start only when you could normally cast a sorcery.
(wotc • 2018-10-05)