Glint-Sleeve Siphoner

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Creature — Human Rogue

Menace

Whenever this creature enters or attacks, you get Magic the Gathering mana symbol(an energy counter).

At the beginning of your upkeep, you may pay Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol. If you do, you draw a card and you lose 1 life.

qGreg Opalinski
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

Some triggered abilities that state that you "may pay" a certain amount of {E} describe an effect that happens "If you do." In that case, no player may take actions to try to stop the ability's effect after you make your choice. If the payment is followed by the phrase "When you do," then you'll choose any targets for that reflexive triggered ability and put it on the stack before players can take actions.
(wotc2024-06-07)
If an effect says you get one or more {E}, you get that many energy counters. To pay one or more {E}, you lose that many energy counters. You can't pay more energy counters than you have. Any effects that interact with counters a player gets, has, or loses can interact with energy counters.
(wotc2024-06-07)
Energy counters aren't mana. They don't go away as steps, phases, and turns end, and effects that add mana "of any type" can't give you energy counters.
(wotc2024-06-07)
Some triggered abilities state that you "may pay" a certain amount of {E}. You can't pay that amount multiple times to multiply the effect. You simply choose whether or not to pay that amount of {E} as the ability resolves.
(wotc2024-06-07)
If a spell or ability with one or more targets states that you "may pay" some amount of {E}, and each permanent that it targets has become an illegal target, the spell or ability won't resolve. You can't pay any {E} even if you want to.
(wotc2024-06-07)
Keep track of how many energy counters each player has. Potential ways to track this include writing theme down on paper or using dice, but any method that is clear and mutually agreeable is fine. (At higher levels of tournament play, dice may not be allowed for tracking counters that players have.)
(wotc2024-06-07)
{E} is the energy symbol. It represents one energy counter.
(wotc2024-06-07)
Some spells and abilities that give you {E} may require targets. If each target chosen is an illegal target as that spell or ability tries to resolve, it won't resolve. You won't get any {E}.
(wotc2024-06-07)
Energy counters are a kind of counter that a player may have. They're not associated with any specific permanents.
(wotc2024-06-07)
The first triggered ability triggers both when Glint-Sleeve Siphoner enters the battlefield and whenever it attacks. You don't have to choose only one.
(wotc2017-02-09)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS