Monastery Swiftspear
Creature — Human Monk
Haste
Prowess (Whenever you cast a noncreature spell, this creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn.)
The calligraphy of combat is written with strokes of sudden blood.
Steve Argyle
Khans of Tarkir (KTK)
• #118Rulings
An ability that triggers when a player casts a spell resolves before the spell that caused it to trigger. It resolves even if that spell is countered.
(wotc • 2021-03-19)
Prowess goes on the stack on top of the spell that caused it to trigger. It will resolve before that spell.
(wotc • 2014-09-20)
Once it triggers, prowess isn't connected to the spell that caused it to trigger. If that spell is countered, prowess will still resolve.
(wotc • 2014-09-20)
Any spell you cast that doesn't have the type creature will cause prowess to trigger. If a spell has multiple types, and one of those types is creature (such as an artifact creature), casting it won't cause prowess to trigger. Playing a land also won't cause prowess to trigger.
(wotc • 2014-09-20)
Rulings
An ability that triggers when a player casts a spell resolves before the spell that caused it to trigger. It resolves even if that spell is countered.
(wotc • 2021-03-19)
Prowess goes on the stack on top of the spell that caused it to trigger. It will resolve before that spell.
(wotc • 2014-09-20)
Once it triggers, prowess isn't connected to the spell that caused it to trigger. If that spell is countered, prowess will still resolve.
(wotc • 2014-09-20)
Any spell you cast that doesn't have the type creature will cause prowess to trigger. If a spell has multiple types, and one of those types is creature (such as an artifact creature), casting it won't cause prowess to trigger. Playing a land also won't cause prowess to trigger.
(wotc • 2014-09-20)