Magic the Gathering Card - Sword of Once and Future - MTG Circle

Sword of Once and Future

Magic the Gathering mana symbol
Artifact — Equipment

Equipped creature gets +2/+2 and has protection from blue and from black.

Whenever equipped creature deals combat damage to a player, surveil 2. Then you may cast an instant or sorcery spell with mana value 2 or less from your graveyard without paying its mana cost. If that spell would be put into your graveyard, exile it instead.

Equip Magic the Gathering mana symbol

qJoshua Cairos
standard
Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

When you surveil, you may put all the cards you look at back on top of your library, you may put all of those cards into your graveyard, or you may put some of those cards on top and the rest of them into your graveyard.
(wotc2024-01-12)
You choose whether or not to cast the instant or sorcery card as the triggered ability resolves. If you do, you do so as part of the resolution of that ability. You can't wait to cast it later in the turn. Timing restrictions based on the card's type are ignored.
(wotc2023-04-14)
If you cast a card "without paying its mana cost," you can't pay any alternative costs. You can, however, pay additional costs. If the card has any mandatory additional costs, those must be paid to cast the card.
(wotc2023-04-14)
If the card has {X} in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as the value of X when casting it without paying its mana cost.
(wotc2023-04-14)
The card you cast may be one you just put into the graveyard with surveil or one already in the graveyard.
(wotc2023-04-14)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS