Flame Javelin
Instant
( can be paid with any two mana or with
. This card's mana value is 6.)
Flame Javelin deals 4 damage to any target.
Zoltan Boros & Gabor Szikszai
Rulings
If a cost includes more than one monocolored hybrid mana symbol, you can choose a different way to pay for each symbol. For example, you can pay for Flame Javelin by spending {R}{R}{R}, {2}{R}{R}, {4}{R}, or {6}.
(wotc • 2008-05-01)
A card with a monocolored hybrid mana symbol in its mana cost is each of the colors that appears in its mana cost, regardless of what mana was spent to cast it. Thus, Flame Javelin is red even if you spend six green mana to cast it.
(wotc • 2008-05-01)
If an effect reduces the cost to cast a spell by an amount of generic mana, it applies to a monocolored hybrid spell only if you've chosen a method of paying for it that includes generic mana.
(wotc • 2008-05-01)
A card with monocolored hybrid mana symbols in its mana cost has a mana value equal to the highest possible cost it could be cast for. Its mana value never changes. Thus, Flame Javelin has a mana value of 6, even if you spend {R}{R}{R} to cast it.
(wotc • 2008-05-01)
Rulings
If a cost includes more than one monocolored hybrid mana symbol, you can choose a different way to pay for each symbol. For example, you can pay for Flame Javelin by spending {R}{R}{R}, {2}{R}{R}, {4}{R}, or {6}.
(wotc • 2008-05-01)
A card with a monocolored hybrid mana symbol in its mana cost is each of the colors that appears in its mana cost, regardless of what mana was spent to cast it. Thus, Flame Javelin is red even if you spend six green mana to cast it.
(wotc • 2008-05-01)
If an effect reduces the cost to cast a spell by an amount of generic mana, it applies to a monocolored hybrid spell only if you've chosen a method of paying for it that includes generic mana.
(wotc • 2008-05-01)
A card with monocolored hybrid mana symbols in its mana cost has a mana value equal to the highest possible cost it could be cast for. Its mana value never changes. Thus, Flame Javelin has a mana value of 6, even if you spend {R}{R}{R} to cast it.
(wotc • 2008-05-01)