Falco Spara, Pactweaver

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Legendary Creature — Bird Demon

Flying, trample

Falco Spara enters with a shield counter on it.

You may look at the top card of your library any time.

You may cast spells from the top of your library by removing a counter from a creature you control in addition to paying their other costs.

qJack Hughes
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

"Shield" is not an ability that creatures have and shield counters are not keyword counters. If a creature with a shield counter loses its abilities, the shield counter will still protect it as normal.
(wotc2022-04-29)
Removing a counter from a creature is an additional cost of casting the spell and may be combined with other additional costs or alternative costs that spell may have, such as casualty.
(wotc2022-04-29)
If a permanent that would be dealt damage has more than one shield counter on it, that damage is prevented and only one shield counter is removed.
(wotc2022-04-29)
Shield counters don't prevent players from sacrificing creatures.
(wotc2022-04-29)
If you cast a spell with casualty this way, you can pay the costs in any order, which means that you may remove a counter from a creature then sacrifice it to pay the casualty cost. Bear in mind that removing a +1/+1 counter this way will reduce a creature's power, which might prevent you from paying the casualty cost with that creature.
(wotc2022-04-29)
A creature with a shield counter on it may still be destroyed by state-based actions if it has damage marked on it equal to its toughness or has been dealt unpreventable damage by a source with deathtouch.
(wotc2022-04-29)
Removing a shield counter in this way isn't the same as regenerating a creature.
(wotc2022-04-29)
If a permanent with a shield counter is dealt unpreventable damage, that damage will be dealt and a shield counter will still be removed.
(wotc2022-04-29)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS