Bygone Bishop

Magic the Gathering symbolMagic the Gathering symbol
Creature — Spirit Cleric

Flying

Whenever you cast a creature spell with mana value 3 or less, investigate. (Create a Clue token. It's an artifact with "Magic the Gathering symbol, Sacrifice this token: Draw a card.")

qJason A. Engle
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

If an effect refers to a Clue, it means any Clue artifact, not just a Clue artifact token. For example, you can sacrifice Wrench to pay for Alquist Proft, Master Sleuth's activated ability.
(wotc2016-04-08)
Casting a spell for an alternative cost, such as a madness cost, doesn't change its mana value. For example, casting Twins of Maurer Estate (a card with mana cost {4}{B} and madness cost {2}{B}) for its madness cost will not cause Bygone Bishop's ability to trigger.
(wotc2016-04-08)
You can't sacrifice a Clue to pay multiple costs. For example, you can't sacrifice a Clue token to activate its own ability and also to activate Alquist Proft, Master Sleuth's ability.
(wotc2016-04-08)
Clue is an artifact type. Even though it appears on some cards with other permanent types, it's never a creature type, a land type, or anything but an artifact type.
(wotc2016-04-08)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS