Verazol, the Split Current

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Legendary Creature — Serpent

Verazol enters with a +1/+1 counter on it for each mana spent to cast it.

Whenever you cast a kicked spell, you may remove two +1/+1 counters from Verazol. If you do, copy that spell. You may choose new targets for the copy. (A copy of a permanent spell becomes a token.)

qDaarken
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

If the spell that's copied is modal (that is, it says "Choose one —" or the like), the copy will have the same mode or modes. You can't choose different ones. This doesn't apply to copying a permanent spell with a modal enters-the-battlefield ability.
(wotc2020-09-25)
If Verazol enters the battlefield without being cast, then no mana was spent to cast it. It enters the battlefield without any +1/+1 counters. If no other effects are increasing its toughness at that time, it will be put into its owner's graveyard as a state-based action.
(wotc2020-09-25)
A copy is created even if the spell that caused Verazol's last ability to trigger has been countered by the time that ability resolves. The copy resolves before the original spell.
(wotc2020-09-25)
You can't choose to pay any additional costs for the copy. However, effects based on any additional costs that were paid for the original spell are copied as though those same costs were paid for the copy too. Most notably, the copy is also kicked.
(wotc2020-09-25)
The amount of mana you spent to cast Verazol is usually equal to its mana value, normally 2 plus the value chosen for X. However, you also include any additional costs you pay, including the "commander tax" in a Commander game.
(wotc2020-09-25)
If another creature enters the battlefield as a copy of Verazol, consider how much mana was spent to cast that creature to determine how many +1/+1 counters it enters with.
(wotc2020-09-25)
For spells with {X} in their mana costs, the copy has the same value of X.
(wotc2020-09-25)
The token that a resolving copy of a spell becomes isn't said to have been "created."
(wotc2020-09-25)
Verazol's last ability can copy any kicked spell, not just one with targets.
(wotc2020-09-25)
You can't remove more than two counters as Verazol's last ability resolves to copy the spell more than once. You can't remove just one counter from it if it has only one. If Verazol leaves the battlefield while its last ability is on the stack, you can't remove two +1/+1 counters from it at all.
(wotc2020-09-25)
The copy is created on the stack, so it's not "cast." Abilities that trigger when a player casts a spell won't trigger.
(wotc2020-09-25)
If a permanent spell is copied, it's put onto the battlefield as a token as the spell resolves rather than putting the copy of the spell onto the battlefield. The rules that apply to a permanent spell becoming a permanent apply to a copy of a spell becoming a token.
(wotc2020-09-25)
The copy will have the same targets as the spell it's copying unless you choose new ones. You may change any number of the targets, including all of them or none of them. The new targets must be legal.
(wotc2020-09-25)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS