Pyroblast

Magic the Gathering mana symbol
Instant

Choose one —

• Counter target spell if it's blue.

• Destroy target permanent if it's blue.

"Just the thing for those pesky water mages." —Jaya Ballard, task mage

qKaja Foglio
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
explorer
Not Legal
modern
Not Legal
historic
Not Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Not Legal
timeless
Not Legal

Rulings

Pyroblast can target any spell or permanent, not just a blue one. It checks the color of the target only on resolution.
(wotc2016-06-08)
The decision to counter a spell or destroy a permanent is a decision made on announcement before the target is selected. If the spell is redirected, this mode can't be changed, so only targets of the selected type are valid.
(wotc2004-10-04)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS