Angel of Jubilation

Magic the Gathering symbolMagic the Gathering symbolMagic the Gathering symbolMagic the Gathering symbol
Creature — Angel

Flying

Other nonblack creatures you control get +1/+1.

Players can't pay life or sacrifice creatures to cast spells or activate abilities.

"Though Innistrad is not cleansed of evil, we finally have cause to rejoice."

qTerese Nielsen
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Not Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Not Legal
timeless
Not Legal

Rulings

Angel of Jubilation’s last ability doesn’t look for specific words on other cards. Rather, it stops players from taking specific actions. For example, you couldn’t activate an ability with an activation of cost of “Sacrifice an artifact:” by sacrificing an artifact creature (although you could sacrifice a noncreature artifact).
(wotc2012-05-01)
Other things may still cause players to pay life or sacrifice creatures, such as a resolving spell or ability.
(wotc2012-05-01)
If a spell or activated ability has a cost that requires a player to pay life (as Griselbrand’s activated ability does) or sacrifice a creature (as Fling does), that spell or ability can’t be cast or activated.
(wotc2012-05-01)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS