The Lord of Pain

Magic the Gathering symbolMagic the Gathering symbolMagic the Gathering symbol
Legendary Creature — Human Assassin

Menace

Your opponents can't gain life.

Whenever a player casts their first spell each turn, choose another target player. The Lord of Pain deals damage equal to that spell's mana value to the chosen player.

alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
modern
Not Legal
historic
Not Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Not Legal
timeless
Not Legal

Rulings

The Lord of Pain's last ability must target a player other than the one who cast the spell that caused the ability to trigger. That means that if it's just you and one other player in the game, you'll have to target yourself when that player casts their first spell each turn. (What did you expect? You summoned The Lord of Pain!)
(wotc2024-09-20)
If a spell has {X} in its mana cost, use the value chosen for X when determining that spell's mana value.
(wotc2024-09-20)
Spells and abilities that cause opponents to gain life still resolve while The Lord of Pain is on the battlefield. They won't gain life, but any other effects of that spell or ability will still happen.
(wotc2024-09-20)
If an effect says to set an opponent's life total to a number that's higher than their current life total, that player's life total won't change.
(wotc2024-09-20)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS