Magic the Gathering Card - Nine Lives - MTG Circle

Nine Lives

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Enchantment

Hexproof

If a source would deal damage to you, prevent that damage and put an incarnation counter on this enchantment.

When there are nine or more incarnation counters on this enchantment, exile it.

When this enchantment leaves the battlefield, you lose the game.

qPaul Scott Canavan
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

If damage that a source would deal to you can't be prevented, you still put an incarnation counter on Nine Lives.
(wotc2020-06-23)
Once the first triggered ability is on the stack, it won't trigger again, even if more damage is prevented and more incarnation counters are put onto it.
(wotc2020-06-23)
If more than one source deals damage to you at once, prevent the damage from each of them and put that many incarnation counters on Nine Lives, even if this causes more than nine incarnation counters to be on Nine Lives. Leave it to cats to abuse loopholes.
(wotc2020-06-23)
The last ability of Nine Lives triggers no matter how it leaves the battlefield.
(wotc2020-06-23)
If you counter the first triggered ability or otherwise remove it from the stack, it will just trigger again immediately if Nine Lives still has nine or more incarnation counters on it.
(wotc2020-06-23)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS