K'rrik, Son of Yawgmoth

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Legendary Creature — Phyrexian Horror Minion

(Magic the Gathering mana symbol can be paid with either Magic the Gathering mana symbol or 2 life.)

Lifelink

For each Magic the Gathering mana symbol in a cost, you may pay 2 life rather than pay that mana.

Whenever you cast a black spell, put a +1/+1 counter on K'rrik.

qDaniel Ljunggren
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
explorer
Not Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

A Phyrexian mana symbol contributes 1 toward the mana value of a card, even if life is paid for it. Specifically, K'rrik's mana value is always 7.
(wotc2024-06-07)
K'rrik's ability lets you pay 2 life for {B} in any cost you pay, including the mana costs of spells, activation costs, and even costs for special actions (such as morph). Any time you pay mana, that's a cost.
(wotc2024-06-07)
K'rrik's last ability resolves before the spell that caused it to trigger. It resolves even if that spell is countered.
(wotc2019-08-23)
K'rrik's ability doesn't modify or reduce costs you pay. It changes only how you may pay those costs.
(wotc2019-08-23)
You can't pay 2 life to pay for generic mana in costs you pay, even if an effect says that you must spend black mana to pay that generic mana.
(wotc2019-08-23)
If a cost contains a mana symbol that may be paid in multiple ways, such as {B/R}, {B/P}, or {2/B}, you choose how you'll pay it before you do so. If you choose to pay {B} this way, K'rrik's ability allows you to pay life rather than pay that mana.
(wotc2019-08-23)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS