Guardian Project

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Enchantment

Whenever a nontoken creature you control enters, if it doesn't have the same name as another creature you control or a creature card in your graveyard, draw a card.

Simic's strength comes from its diversity.

qChris Rallis
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

A face-down creature has no name, so it can't share a name with anything. This includes other creatures with no name.
(wotc2019-01-25)
Whether the entering creature shares a name with a creature you control or a creature card in your graveyard is checked both as that creature enters and as Guardian Project's ability resolves. If the entering creature isn't the first of its name as it enters, the ability doesn't trigger at all; if its name is shared as the ability resolves, you don't draw a card.
(wotc2019-01-25)
If the entering creature leaves the battlefield and returns while Guardian Project's ability is on the stack, that same card will be a new creature you control that shares a name with the creature that was on the battlefield, so you won't draw a card. However, Guardian Project's ability may trigger for the new creature and you may draw a card as that ability resolves.
(wotc2019-01-25)
If the entering creature is put into your graveyard while Guardian Project's ability is on the stack, that same card will be a creature card in your graveyard that shares a name with the creature that was on the battlefield, so you won't draw a card.
(wotc2019-01-25)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS