Necropotence

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Enchantment

Skip your draw step.

Whenever you discard a card, exile that card from your graveyard.

Pay 1 life: Exile the top card of your library face down. Put that card into your hand at the beginning of your next end step.

standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
explorer
Not Legal
modern
Not Legal
historic
Banned
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

You can't look at the cards exiled by the last ability while they're face down.
(wotc2023-09-01)
Necropotence's last ability creates a delayed triggered ability that will put the exiled card into your hand. That ability still triggers even if Necropotence is removed from the battlefield before your end step.
(wotc2017-11-17)
If a discarded card isn't put into your graveyard (due to an effect such as that of Obstinate Baloth) or leaves your graveyard (perhaps because another effect returned it to your hand), it won't be exiled.
(wotc2017-11-17)
If you discard a card with madness and wish to cast it, Necropotence's ability won't exile that card. If you don't wish to cast it, you choose whether it ends up exiled or in your graveyard.
(wotc2017-11-17)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS