Think Twice

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Instant

Draw a card.

Flashback Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol(You may cast this card from your graveyard for its flashback cost. Then exile it.)

"Five left. Every time you say no to me, I will throw another key down there. Do we understand each other?" —Clara Oswald

qAlice Xia Zhang
standard
Legal
alchemy
Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

A spell cast using flashback will always be exiled afterward, whether it resolves, is countered, or leaves the stack in some other way.
(wotc2024-11-08)
To determine the total cost of a spell, start with the mana cost or alternative cost (such as a flashback cost) you're paying, add any cost increases, then apply any cost reductions. The mana value of the spell is determined only by its mana cost, no matter what the total cost to cast the spell was.
(wotc2024-11-08)
You must still follow any timing restrictions and permissions, including those based on the card's type. For instance, you can cast a sorcery using flashback only when you could normally cast a sorcery.
(wotc2024-11-08)
If a card with flashback is put into your graveyard during your turn, you can cast it if it's legal to do so before any other player can take any actions.
(wotc2024-11-08)
"Flashback [cost]" means "You may cast this card from your graveyard by paying [cost] rather than paying its mana cost" and "If the flashback cost was paid, exile this card instead of putting it anywhere else any time it would leave the stack."
(wotc2024-11-08)
You can cast a spell using flashback even if it was somehow put into your graveyard without having been cast.
(wotc2024-11-08)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS