Guerrilla Tactics
Instant
Guerrilla Tactics deals 2 damage to any target.
When a spell or ability an opponent controls causes you to discard this card, it deals 4 damage to any target.
Dave Dorman
Tenth Edition (10E)
• #211Rulings
Discarding as a cost to cast a spell will not trigger the ability. Only discarding as an effect will trigger the ability.
(wotc • 2004-10-04)
If it is discarded, the damage done by it is done by this card due to an ability and not by a spell.
(wotc • 2004-10-04)
The second ability will trigger even on an optional discard caused by an opponent.
(wotc • 2004-10-04)
Rulings
Discarding as a cost to cast a spell will not trigger the ability. Only discarding as an effect will trigger the ability.
(wotc • 2004-10-04)
If it is discarded, the damage done by it is done by this card due to an ability and not by a spell.
(wotc • 2004-10-04)
The second ability will trigger even on an optional discard caused by an opponent.
(wotc • 2004-10-04)