Fireblade Artist
Creature — Human Shaman
Haste
At the beginning of your upkeep, you may sacrifice a creature. When you do, this creature deals 2 damage to target opponent or planeswalker.
"Let's find out what kind of audience you are. Festive? Fearless?"
Steve Argyle
Double Masters 2022 (2X2)
• #214Rulings
Fireblade Artist's triggered ability goes on the stack without a target. While that ability is resolving, you may sacrifice a creature. When you do, the reflexive triggered ability triggers and you pick a target opponent or planeswalker to be dealt damage. This is different from effects that say "If you do . . ." in that players may take actions after you've sacrificed the creature but before damage is dealt.
(wotc • 2019-01-25)
Rulings
Fireblade Artist's triggered ability goes on the stack without a target. While that ability is resolving, you may sacrifice a creature. When you do, the reflexive triggered ability triggers and you pick a target opponent or planeswalker to be dealt damage. This is different from effects that say "If you do . . ." in that players may take actions after you've sacrificed the creature but before damage is dealt.
(wotc • 2019-01-25)