Ulamog, the Infinite Gyre

Magic the Gathering mana symbol
Legendary Creature — Eldrazi

When you cast this spell, destroy target permanent.

Indestructible

Annihilator 4

When Ulamog is put into a graveyard from anywhere, its owner shuffles their graveyard into their library.

qAleksi Briclot
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
explorer
Not Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Not Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Not Legal
timeless
Not Legal

Rulings

Ulamog's ability triggers as you cast it, and that ability resolves before the spell itself. It resolves even if that spell is countered.
(wotc2018-12-07)
Lethal damage and effects that say "destroy" won't cause a creature with indestructible to be put into the graveyard. However, a creature with indestructible can be put into the graveyard for a number of reasons. The most likely reasons are if it's sacrificed, if it's legendary and another legendary creature with the same name is controlled by the same player, or if its toughness is 0 or less.
(wotc2013-07-01)
Annihilator abilities trigger and resolve during the declare attackers step. The defending player chooses and sacrifices the required number of permanents before they declare blockers. Any creatures sacrificed this way won't be able to block.
(wotc2010-06-15)
If a creature with annihilator is attacking a planeswalker, and the defending player chooses to sacrifice that planeswalker, the attacking creature continues to attack. It may be blocked. If it isn't blocked, it simply won't deal combat damage to anything.
(wotc2010-06-15)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS