Implement of Combustion
Artifact
, Sacrifice this artifact: It deals 1 damage to target player or planeswalker.
When this artifact is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, draw a card.
A dream of fire lies coiled inside, waiting for its glorious awakening.
Efflam Mercier
Aether Revolt (AER)
• #155Rulings
An Implement’s last ability triggers no matter why it’s put into a graveyard from the battlefield. You don’t have to activate its first ability.
(wotc • 2017-02-09)
If you activate an Implement’s first ability, you’ll draw a card from its second ability before the first ability resolves. If the first ability has a target, you need a legal target to activate that ability, and you choose that target before seeing what card you’ll draw.
(wotc • 2017-02-09)
Rulings
An Implement’s last ability triggers no matter why it’s put into a graveyard from the battlefield. You don’t have to activate its first ability.
(wotc • 2017-02-09)
If you activate an Implement’s first ability, you’ll draw a card from its second ability before the first ability resolves. If the first ability has a target, you need a legal target to activate that ability, and you choose that target before seeing what card you’ll draw.
(wotc • 2017-02-09)