Dragon's Disciple

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Creature — Human Monk

As this creature enters, you may reveal a Dragon card from your hand. If you do or if you control a Dragon, this creature enters with a +1/+1 counter on it.

Dragons you control have ward Magic the Gathering mana symbol. (Whenever a Dragon you control becomes the target of a spell or ability an opponent controls, counter it unless that player pays Magic the Gathering mana symbol.)

standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

Revealing a Dragon card happens as Dragon's Disciple resolves. It is not an additional cost for casting the spell.
(wotc2021-07-23)
Players can respond to Dragon's Disciple while it is on the stack, but they cannot respond to the choice of whether or not to reveal a Dragon as it enters the battlefield. Notably, that means they can't remove your Dragon from play to prevent Dragon's Disciple from getting the counter once you've decided not to reveal a Dragon card.
(wotc2021-07-23)
A Dragon card is a card with the creature type Dragon in its type line. Similarly, a creature on the battlefield is a Dragon if it has the Dragon creature type. A card that has “Dragon” in the name (such as Dragon's Disciple) isn't a Dragon card unless it also has the Dragon creature type.
(wotc2021-07-23)
If a player casts a spell that targets multiple permanents their opponent controls with ward, each of those ward abilities will trigger. If that player doesn't pay for all of them, the spell will be countered.
(wotc2021-07-23)
If you choose to reveal a Dragon card from your hand and also control a Dragon, Dragon's Disciple still only gets a single +1/+1 counter.
(wotc2021-07-23)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS