Tawnos, the Toymaker
Legendary Creature — Human Artificer
Whenever you cast a Beast or Bird creature spell, you may copy it, except the copy is an artifact in addition to its other types. (The copy becomes a token.)
"Don't thank me. Thank nature for its wondrous designs!"
Livia Prima
The Brothers' War (BRO)
• #222Rulings
The copy remembers any decisions that were made for the original spell as it was cast, including values chosen for X in its mana cost and whether any alternative or additional costs were chosen. For example, if the original creature spell had kicker and its kicker cost was paid, the copy will also be kicked.
(wotc • 2022-10-14)
A resolving copy of a permanent spell becomes a token, so the token isn't "created." Effects that care about a token being created won't interact with a token that enters the battlefield from Tawnos, the Toymaker's ability.
(wotc • 2022-10-14)
Rulings
The copy remembers any decisions that were made for the original spell as it was cast, including values chosen for X in its mana cost and whether any alternative or additional costs were chosen. For example, if the original creature spell had kicker and its kicker cost was paid, the copy will also be kicked.
(wotc • 2022-10-14)
A resolving copy of a permanent spell becomes a token, so the token isn't "created." Effects that care about a token being created won't interact with a token that enters the battlefield from Tawnos, the Toymaker's ability.
(wotc • 2022-10-14)