Marath, Will of the Wild

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Legendary Creature — Elemental Beast

Marath enters with a number of +1/+1 counters on it equal to the amount of mana spent to cast it.

Magic the Gathering mana symbol, Remove X +1/+1 counters from Marath: Choose one —

• Put X +1/+1 counters on target creature. X can't be 0.

• Marath deals X damage to any target. X can't be 0.

• Create an X/X green Elemental creature token. X can't be 0.

qTyler Jacobson
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
explorer
Not Legal
modern
Not Legal
historic
Not Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Not Legal
timeless
Not Legal

Rulings

You can't choose to pay extra mana to cast a creature spell unless something instructs you to.
(wotc2020-11-10)
You announce the value of X as you activate the ability, and all instances of X in the activation cost are equal to the announced value. For example, if you choose 2 as the value of X, then you pay 2 and remove two +1/+1 counters to pay the cost.
(wotc2020-11-10)
If Marath enters the battlefield without being cast, then no mana was spent to cast it. It will therefore enter the battlefield without any +1/+1 counters. If no other effects are increasing its toughness at that time, it will subsequently be put into its owner's graveyard as a state-based action.
(wotc2020-11-10)
The amount of mana you spent to cast this creature is usually equal to its mana value. However, you also include any additional costs you pay, including the cost imposed for casting your commander from the command zone.
(wotc2020-11-10)
The amount of mana you spent to cast this creature is usually equal to its mana value. However, you also include any additional costs you pay, including the cost imposed for casting your commander from the command zone.
(wotc2014-02-01)
If Marath enters the battlefield without being cast, then no mana was spent to cast it. It will therefore enter the battlefield without any +1/+1 counters. If no other effects are increasing its toughness at that time, it will subsequently be put into its owner's graveyard as a state-based action.
(wotc2014-02-01)
You can't choose to pay extra mana to cast a creature spell unless something instructs you to.
(wotc2014-02-01)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS