Wing Shards

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Instant

Target player sacrifices an attacking creature of their choice.

Storm (When you cast this spell, copy it for each spell cast before it this turn. You may choose new targets for the copies.)

qDaren Bader
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
explorer
Not Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Not Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Not Legal
timeless
Not Legal

Rulings

If you cast Wing Shards after combat damage has been dealt, only creatures that survived combat can be sacrificed.
(wotc2019-06-14)
The copies storm creates are created on the stack, so they’re not cast. Abilities that trigger when a player casts a spell (such as storm) won’t trigger.
(wotc2019-06-14)
The storm ability and the copies it creates all resolve before the spell with storm. They resolve even if the spell with storm is countered.
(wotc2019-06-14)
Storm counts spells cast before the spell with storm was cast. Spells cast after the spell with storm was cast but before the storm ability resolves aren’t counted.
(wotc2019-06-14)
Wing Shards doesn’t target the creature to be sacrificed. The target player chooses the creature as it resolves.
(wotc2019-06-14)
An “attacking creature” is one that has been declared as an attacker or put onto the battlefield attacking during a turn’s combat. Unless that creature leaves combat, it continues to be an attacking creature through the end of combat step, even if the player it was attacking has left the game or the planeswalker it was attacking has left combat.
(wotc2019-06-14)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS