Parting Thoughts

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Sorcery

Destroy target creature. You draw X cards and you lose X life, where X is the number of counters on that creature.

"To spend your life seeking, only to find regret upon achieving . . . this is the most delicious irony of all." —Leshrac, Walker of Night

qSeb McKinnon
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
explorer
Not Legal
modern
Not Legal
historic
Not Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Not Legal
timeless
Not Legal

Rulings

Parting Thoughts counts every kind of counter on that creature. Effects such as that of Giant Growth, Auras, and Equipment aren’t counters.
(wotc2016-11-08)
Parting Thoughts can target a creature without any counters on it. You’ll lose no life and draw no cards.
(wotc2016-11-08)
If a creature has +1/+1 counters and -1/-1 counters on it, state-based actions remove the same number of each so that it has only one of those kinds of counters on it. There won’t be any counters of the other kind for Parting Thoughts to count.
(wotc2016-11-08)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS