Basilica Screecher
Creature — Bat
Flying
Extort (Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay . If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain that much life.)
A screech in the night is all it takes for Orzhov debtors to clutch at their coin purses.
Christine Choi
Ravnica: Clue Edition (CLU)
• #105Rulings
The extort ability resolves before the spell that caused it to trigger. The ability resolves even if that spell is countered.
(wotc • 2024-01-12)
The amount of life you gain from extort is based on the total amount of life lost, not necessarily the number of opponents you have. For example, if your opponent's life total can't change (perhaps because that player controls Platinum Emperion), you won't gain any life.
(wotc • 2024-01-12)
You may pay {W/B} a maximum of one time for each extort triggered ability. You decide whether to pay when the ability resolves.
(wotc • 2024-01-12)
The extort ability doesn't target any player.
(wotc • 2024-01-12)
Rulings
The extort ability resolves before the spell that caused it to trigger. The ability resolves even if that spell is countered.
(wotc • 2024-01-12)
The amount of life you gain from extort is based on the total amount of life lost, not necessarily the number of opponents you have. For example, if your opponent's life total can't change (perhaps because that player controls Platinum Emperion), you won't gain any life.
(wotc • 2024-01-12)
You may pay {W/B} a maximum of one time for each extort triggered ability. You decide whether to pay when the ability resolves.
(wotc • 2024-01-12)
The extort ability doesn't target any player.
(wotc • 2024-01-12)