Amphin Mutineer

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Creature — Salamander Pirate

When this creature enters, exile up to one target non-Salamander creature. That creature's controller creates a 4/3 blue Salamander Warrior creature token.

Encore Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol(Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol, Exile this card from your graveyard: For each opponent, create a token copy that attacks that opponent this turn if able. They gain haste. Sacrifice them at the beginning of the next end step. Activate only as a sorcery.)

qNicholas Gregory
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
explorer
Not Legal
modern
Not Legal
historic
Not Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Not Legal
timeless
Not Legal

Rulings

If an effect stops a token from attacking a specific player, that token can attack any player, planeswalker, or battle, or not attack at all. If the effect stops the token from attacking a specific player unless a cost is paid, you don't have to pay that cost unless you want to attack that player.
(wotc2023-07-28)
If one of the tokens can't attack for any reason (such as being tapped), then it doesn't attack. If there's a cost associated with having it attack, you aren't forced to pay that cost, so it doesn't have to attack in that case either.
(wotc2020-11-10)
The tokens copy only what's on the original card. Effects that modified that creature when it was previously on the battlefield won't be copied.
(wotc2020-11-10)
If one of the tokens somehow is under another player's control as the delayed triggered ability resolves, you can't sacrifice that token. It remains on the battlefield indefinitely, even if you regain control of it later.
(wotc2020-11-10)
Opponents who have left the game aren't counted when determining how many tokens to create.
(wotc2020-11-10)
Each token must attack the appropriate player if able.
(wotc2020-11-10)
If the target non-Salamander creature is an illegal target by the time Amphin Mutineer's ability tries to resolve, the ability doesn't resolve. No player creates a Salamander Warrior token.
(wotc2020-11-10)
Exiling the card with encore is a cost to activate the ability. Once you announce that you're activating it, no player may take actions until you've finished. They can't try to remove the card from your graveyard to stop you from paying the cost.
(wotc2020-11-10)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS