Circle of Flame
Enchantment
Whenever a creature without flying attacks you or a planeswalker you control, this enchantment deals 1 damage to that creature.
"Which do you think is a better deterrent: a moat of water or one of fire?" —Chandra Nalaar
James Paick
DCI Promos (DCI)
• #78Rulings
Circle of Flame is banned in Pauper (not just non-legal), due to a special case on MTGO: https://magic.wizards.com/en/articles/archive/news/january-21-2019-banned-and-restricted-announcement
(scryfall • 2021-02-01)
Circle of Flame's ability triggers only if a creature without flying is declared as an attacker during the declare attackers step. If a creature with flying attacks you or a planeswalker you control and then loses flying, or if a creature without flying is put onto the battlefield attacking you or a planeswalker you control, the ability won't trigger.
(wotc • 2014-07-18)
Rulings
Circle of Flame is banned in Pauper (not just non-legal), due to a special case on MTGO: https://magic.wizards.com/en/articles/archive/news/january-21-2019-banned-and-restricted-announcement
(scryfall • 2021-02-01)
Circle of Flame's ability triggers only if a creature without flying is declared as an attacker during the declare attackers step. If a creature with flying attacks you or a planeswalker you control and then loses flying, or if a creature without flying is put onto the battlefield attacking you or a planeswalker you control, the ability won't trigger.
(wotc • 2014-07-18)