Shrewd Hatchling
Creature — Elemental
This creature enters with four -1/-1 counters on it.
: Target creature can't block this creature this turn.
Whenever you cast a blue spell, remove a -1/-1 counter from this creature.
Whenever you cast a red spell, remove a -1/-1 counter from this creature.
Carl Frank
Rulings
If you cast a spell that’s both of the listed colors, both abilities will trigger. You’ll remove a total of two -1/-1 counters from the Hatchling.
(wotc • 2008-08-01)
If there are no -1/-1 counters on it when the triggered ability resolves, the ability does nothing. There is no penalty for not being able to remove a counter.
(wotc • 2008-08-01)
Rulings
If you cast a spell that’s both of the listed colors, both abilities will trigger. You’ll remove a total of two -1/-1 counters from the Hatchling.
(wotc • 2008-08-01)
If there are no -1/-1 counters on it when the triggered ability resolves, the ability does nothing. There is no penalty for not being able to remove a counter.
(wotc • 2008-08-01)