Vampire's Bite
Instant
Kicker (You may pay an additional
as you cast this spell.)
Target creature gets +3/+0 until end of turn. If this spell was kicked, that creature gains lifelink until end of turn. (Damage dealt by the creature also causes its controller to gain that much life.)
Christopher Moeller
Rulings
The kicker ability doesn't let you pay a kicker cost more than once.
(wotc • 2024-11-08)
If you put a permanent with a kicker ability onto the battlefield without casting it, you can't kick it.
(wotc • 2024-11-08)
If you copy a kicked spell on the stack, the copy is also kicked. If the copied spell is a permanent spell, the token the copy of that spell becomes when it enters is also kicked.
(wotc • 2024-11-08)
If a spell's kicker cost was paid, the spell is "kicked."
(wotc • 2024-11-08)
To determine a spell's total cost, start with the mana cost (or an alternative cost if another card's effect allows you to pay one instead), add any cost increases (such as kicker), then apply any cost reductions. The spell's mana value remains unchanged, no matter what the total cost to cast it was.
(wotc • 2024-11-08)
If a card or token enters as a copy of a permanent, the new permanent isn't kicked, even if the original was.
(wotc • 2024-11-08)
Rulings
The kicker ability doesn't let you pay a kicker cost more than once.
(wotc • 2024-11-08)
If you put a permanent with a kicker ability onto the battlefield without casting it, you can't kick it.
(wotc • 2024-11-08)
If you copy a kicked spell on the stack, the copy is also kicked. If the copied spell is a permanent spell, the token the copy of that spell becomes when it enters is also kicked.
(wotc • 2024-11-08)
If a spell's kicker cost was paid, the spell is "kicked."
(wotc • 2024-11-08)
To determine a spell's total cost, start with the mana cost (or an alternative cost if another card's effect allows you to pay one instead), add any cost increases (such as kicker), then apply any cost reductions. The spell's mana value remains unchanged, no matter what the total cost to cast it was.
(wotc • 2024-11-08)
If a card or token enters as a copy of a permanent, the new permanent isn't kicked, even if the original was.
(wotc • 2024-11-08)