Coalstoke Gearhulk
Artifact Creature — Construct
Menace, deathtouch
When this creature enters, put target creature card with mana value 4 or less from a graveyard onto the battlefield under your control with a finality counter on it. That creature gains menace, deathtouch, and , and haste. At the beginning of your next end step, exile that creature.. At the beginning of your next end step, exile that creature.
Nino Vecia
Aetherdrift (DFT)
• #198Rulings
Finality counters work on any permanent, not only creatures. If a permanent with a finality counter on it would be put into a graveyard from the battlefield, exile it instead.
(wotc • 2025-02-07)
Multiple finality counters on a single permanent are redundant.
(wotc • 2025-02-07)
Finality counters don’t stop permanents from going to zones other than the graveyard from the battlefield. For example, if a permanent with a finality counter on it would be put into its owner’s hand from the battlefield, it does so normally.
(wotc • 2025-02-07)
Finality counters aren’t keyword counters, and a finality counter doesn’t give any abilities to the permanent it’s on. If that permanent loses its abilities and then would go to a graveyard, it will still be exiled instead.
(wotc • 2025-02-07)
Rulings
Finality counters work on any permanent, not only creatures. If a permanent with a finality counter on it would be put into a graveyard from the battlefield, exile it instead.
(wotc • 2025-02-07)
Multiple finality counters on a single permanent are redundant.
(wotc • 2025-02-07)
Finality counters don’t stop permanents from going to zones other than the graveyard from the battlefield. For example, if a permanent with a finality counter on it would be put into its owner’s hand from the battlefield, it does so normally.
(wotc • 2025-02-07)
Finality counters aren’t keyword counters, and a finality counter doesn’t give any abilities to the permanent it’s on. If that permanent loses its abilities and then would go to a graveyard, it will still be exiled instead.
(wotc • 2025-02-07)