Keen Buccaneer
Creature — Octopus Pirate
Vigilance
Exhaust — — : Draw a card, then discard a card. Put a +1/+1 counter on this creature.
"The secret to good piratin' is being ready for anything. That, and havin' eight arms."
Mirko Failoni
Aetherdrift (DFT)
• #48Rulings
Exhaust abilities can be activated any time you could normally activate an ability.
(wotc • 2025-02-07)
If an exhaust ability of a permanent is activated, and then that permanent leaves the battlefield and returns to the battlefield, it becomes a new object so its exhaust ability can be activated again.
(wotc • 2025-02-07)
If an ability triggers whenever you activate an exhaust ability, that ability resolves before the exhaust ability resolves.
(wotc • 2025-02-07)
Rulings
Exhaust abilities can be activated any time you could normally activate an ability.
(wotc • 2025-02-07)
If an exhaust ability of a permanent is activated, and then that permanent leaves the battlefield and returns to the battlefield, it becomes a new object so its exhaust ability can be activated again.
(wotc • 2025-02-07)
If an ability triggers whenever you activate an exhaust ability, that ability resolves before the exhaust ability resolves.
(wotc • 2025-02-07)