Walking Sarcophagus

Magic the Gathering mana symbol
Artifact Creature — Zombie Cat

Start your engines!

Max speed — This creature gets +1/+2.

The warrior rose in a very different world from the one he'd left behind.

qJulia Metzger
standard
Legal
alchemy
Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

Start your engines! isn’t a triggered ability. Increasing your speed to 1 is something that happens as a state-based action as soon as you control a permanent with the ability. Notably, this includes gaining control of a permanent with the ability that another player controls.
(wotc2025-02-07)
A player “has max speed” if their speed is 4.
(wotc2025-02-07)
If an effect needs to know what a player’s speed is and that player doesn’t have a speed, their speed is considered 0.
(wotc2025-02-07)
Each player tracks their speed (or lack thereof) separately. Increasing your speed has no effect on whether another player has speed.
(wotc2025-02-07)
Your speed doesn’t change until a spell or ability says so, such as the inherent triggered ability that cares about opponents losing life during your turn. Notably, losing control of permanents with start your engines! doesn’t affect your speed.
(wotc2025-02-07)
“Max speed — [ability]” means “As long as you have max speed, this object has [ability].” If the granted ability functions in a zone other than the battlefield, the max speed ability does too.
(wotc2025-02-07)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS