Magic the Gathering Card - Academy Loremaster - MTG Circle

Academy Loremaster

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Creature — Human Wizard

At the beginning of each player's draw step, that player may draw an additional card. If they do, spells they cast this turn cost Magic the Gathering mana symbol more to cast.

As a young student, she dusted the shelves of Tolaria's great library. Now, she writes the books that line them.

qMarcela Medeiros
standard
Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

The cost increase applies to spells that player casts even if they're casting them for an alternative cost. If they cast a spell without paying its mana cost, they'll still have to pay {2}.
(wotc2022-09-09)
Abilities that reduce the cost to cast a spell apply after abilities that raise them. For example, if an opponent chose to draw an additional card as Academy Loremaster's triggered ability resolved, Argivian Phalanx (a card with mana cost {5}{W} and the ability "This spell costs {1} less to cast for each creature you control.") will cost them {W} to cast that turn if they have seven or more creatures.
(wotc2022-09-09)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS