Magic the Gathering Card - Nissa, Worldsoul Speaker - MTG Circle

Nissa, Worldsoul Speaker

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Legendary Creature — Elf Druid

Landfall — Whenever a land you control enters, you get Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol(two energy counters).

You may pay eight Magic the Gathering mana symbol rather than pay the mana cost for permanent spells you cast.

"Zendikar still seems so far off, but Chandra is my home."

qMagali Villeneuve
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
explorer
Not Legal
modern
Not Legal
historic
Not Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Not Legal
timeless
Not Legal

Rulings

Energy counters are a kind of counter that a player may have. They’re not associated with any specific permanents.
(wotc2025-02-07)
Some spells and abilities say that you “may pay” a certain amount of {E}. You can’t pay that amount multiple times to multiply the effect. You simply choose whether or not to pay that amount of {E} as the ability resolves.
(wotc2025-02-07)
{E} is the energy symbol. It represents one energy counter.
(wotc2025-02-07)
Energy counters aren’t mana. They don’t go away as steps, phases, and turns end, and effects that add mana “of any type” can’t give you energy counters.
(wotc2025-02-07)
Keep track of how many energy counters each player has. Potential ways to track this include writing them down on paper or using dice, but any method that is clear and mutually agreeable is fine.
(wotc2025-02-07)
Some spells and abilities say that you “may pay” a certain amount of {E}, then describes an effect that happens “if you do.” In that case, no player may take actions to try to stop the ability’s effect after you make your choice. If the payment is instead followed by the phrase “when you do” followed by an effect, then after you choose to pay {E}, a new triggered ability called a reflexive trigger is put on the stack, and you choose targets for the reflexive trigger (if the effect asks for targets). Players may respond as normal to this new triggered ability. Once that reflexive trigger resolves, the effect will finally occur.
(wotc2025-02-07)
Some spells and abilities which give you {E} or say you “may pay” some amount of {E} require one or more targets. If each target chosen is an illegal target as that spell or ability tries to resolve, it won’t resolve. None of its effects will happen, you won’t get any {E} from it, and you won’t get the chance to pay any {E} for its effects even if you want to.
(wotc2025-02-07)
If an effect says you get one or more {E}, you get that many energy counters. To pay one or more {E}, you lose that many energy counters. You can’t pay more energy counters than you have. Any effects that interact with counters a player gets, has, or loses can interact with energy counters.
(wotc2025-02-07)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS