Foul Emissary
Creature — Human Horror
When this creature enters, look at the top four cards of your library. You may reveal a creature card from among them and put it into your hand. Put the rest on the bottom of your library in any order.
When you sacrifice this creature while casting a spell with emerge, create a 3/2 colorless Eldrazi Horror creature token.
Dan Murayama Scott
Eldritch Moon (EMN)
• #158Rulings
Foul Emissary’s last ability triggers if it’s sacrificed for any reason while you’re casting a spell with emerge, whether or not you’re casting that spell for its emerge cost. For example, if you sacrifice it to activate the ability of Ashnod’s Altar while casting Decimator of the Provinces for {10}, its ability will trigger.
(wotc • 2016-07-13)
Rulings
Foul Emissary’s last ability triggers if it’s sacrificed for any reason while you’re casting a spell with emerge, whether or not you’re casting that spell for its emerge cost. For example, if you sacrifice it to activate the ability of Ashnod’s Altar while casting Decimator of the Provinces for {10}, its ability will trigger.
(wotc • 2016-07-13)