Magic the Gathering Card - Fervent Paincaster - MTG Circle

Fervent Paincaster

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Creature — Human Wizard

Magic the Gathering mana symbol: This creature deals 1 damage to target player or planeswalker.

Magic the Gathering mana symbol, Exert this creature: It deals 1 damage to target creature. (An exerted creature won't untap during your next untap step.)

"Everyone here is a honed fighter. We'll respond the only way we know how."

qMatt Stewart
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

Some cards in the Hour of Devastation set let you exert a creature as a cost to activate one of its abilities. You can exert it to pay that cost even if you've already exerted it earlier in the turn. Exerting it multiple times will keep it tapped only during your next untap step.
(wotc2017-07-14)
If you gain control of another player's creature until end of turn and exert it, it will untap during that player's untap step.
(wotc2017-04-18)
If an exerted creature is already untapped during your next untap step (most likely because it had vigilance or an effect untapped it), exert's effect preventing it from untapping expires without having done anything.
(wotc2017-04-18)
You can't exert a creature unless an effect allows you to do so. Similar effects that "tap and freeze" a creature (such as that of Decision Paralysis) don't exert that creature.
(wotc2017-04-18)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS