Magic the Gathering Card - Chevill, Bane of Monsters - MTG Circle

Chevill, Bane of Monsters

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Legendary Creature — Human Rogue

Deathtouch

At the beginning of your upkeep, if your opponents control no permanents with bounty counters on them, put a bounty counter on target creature or planeswalker an opponent controls.

Whenever a permanent an opponent controls with a bounty counter on it dies, you gain 3 life and draw a card.

standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

If the creature or planeswalker with a bounty counter on it ceases to be a creature or planeswalker, Chevill’s last ability will still trigger if that permanent is put into a graveyard from the battlefield.
(wotc2020-04-17)
Chevill’s middle ability and last ability look for any bounty counter on your opponents’ permanents, not just one from that Chevill. For example, if players A and B each control a Chevill and player A has put a bounty counter on player C’s creature, player B’s Chevill won’t put a counter on anything and both players will gain 3 life and draw a card when that creature dies.
(wotc2020-04-17)
If your life total is brought to 0 or less at the same time that a creature with a bounty counter on it is dealt lethal damage, you lose the game before the last ability goes on the stack.
(wotc2020-04-17)
If Chevill leaves the battlefield at the same time that an opponent’s permanent with a bounty counter on it dies, you gain 3 life and draw a card. If Chevill leaves the battlefield before that permanent dies, Chevill’s last ability won’t be around to trigger.
(wotc2020-04-17)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS