Heartless Act

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Instant

Choose one —

• Destroy target creature with no counters on it.

• Remove up to three counters from target creature.

"It's them or us." —General Kudro

qRyan Pancoast
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

If you choose the second mode for Heartless Act, you choose which counters to remove from the creature, no matter who controls the creature. You may choose counters of different kinds.
(wotc2020-04-17)
If you choose the first mode and the creature gains a counter in response, you can’t remove counters from it instead; the spell just doesn’t resolve. Similarly, if you choose the second mode and the creature loses its counters in response, you can’t destroy it instead.
(wotc2020-04-17)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS