Jhessian Thief
Creature — Human Rogue
Prowess (Whenever you cast a noncreature spell, this creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn.)
Whenever this creature deals combat damage to a player, draw a card.
"Where's the fun in an escape if it's not at least a little daring?"
Miles Johnston
Iconic Masters (IMA)
• #61Rulings
Any spell you cast that doesn’t have the type creature will cause prowess to trigger. If a spell has multiple types, and one of those types is creature (such as an artifact creature), casting it won’t cause prowess to trigger. Playing a land also won’t cause prowess to trigger.
(wotc • 2015-06-22)
Once it triggers, prowess isn’t connected to the spell that caused it to trigger. If that spell is countered, prowess will still resolve.
(wotc • 2015-06-22)
Prowess goes on the stack on top of the spell that caused it to trigger. It will resolve before that spell.
(wotc • 2015-06-22)
Rulings
Any spell you cast that doesn’t have the type creature will cause prowess to trigger. If a spell has multiple types, and one of those types is creature (such as an artifact creature), casting it won’t cause prowess to trigger. Playing a land also won’t cause prowess to trigger.
(wotc • 2015-06-22)
Once it triggers, prowess isn’t connected to the spell that caused it to trigger. If that spell is countered, prowess will still resolve.
(wotc • 2015-06-22)
Prowess goes on the stack on top of the spell that caused it to trigger. It will resolve before that spell.
(wotc • 2015-06-22)