Magic the Gathering Card - Tree of Perdition - MTG Circle

Tree of Perdition

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Creature — Plant

Defender

Magic the Gathering mana symbol: Exchange target opponent's life total with this creature's toughness.

There will be no absolution.

qYuchi Yuki
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

When the ability resolves, Tree of Perdition’s toughness becomes the targeted opponent’s former life total and that player gains or loses an amount of life necessary so that their life total equals Tree of Perdition’s former toughness. Other effects that interact with life gain or life loss will interact with this effect accordingly.
(wotc2016-07-13)
Any toughness-modifying effects, counters, Auras, or Equipment will apply after its toughness is set to the player’s former life total. For example, say Tree of Perdition is equipped with Cultist’s Staff (which makes it 2/15) and the player’s life total is 7. After the exchange, Tree of Perdition would be a 2/9 creature (its toughness became 7, which was then modified by Cultist’s Staff) and the player’s life total would be 15.
(wotc2016-07-13)
If Tree of Perdition isn’t on the battlefield when the ability resolves, the exchange can’t happen and the ability will have no effect. Notably, activating the ability and giving Tree of Perdition -13/-13 in response won’t cause your opponent to lose the game.
(wotc2016-07-13)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS