Vexing Devil

Magic the Gathering mana symbol
Creature — Devil

When this creature enters, any opponent may have it deal 4 damage to them. If a player does, sacrifice this creature.

It's not any fun until someone loses an eye.

qLucas Graciano
standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
explorer
Not Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Not Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Not Legal
timeless
Not Legal

Rulings

As Vexing Devil’s ability resolves, the next opponent in turn order (or, if it’s an opponent’s turn, that opponent) chooses whether to be dealt 4 damage, then each other opponent in turn order does the same. If any of them do, you sacrifice Vexing Devil.
(wotc2018-12-07)
No player may take actions between the time an opponent chooses to be dealt damage by Vexing Devil and the time you sacrifice Vexing Devil. This means that you can’t use a spell or ability (such as Turn to Mist) to stop Vexing Devil from being sacrificed if a player chooses to be dealt damage.
(wotc2018-12-07)
If a player chooses to have Vexing Devil deal 4 damage to them, but some or all of that damage is prevented or redirected, Vexing Devil will still be sacrificed.
(wotc2012-05-01)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS