Nevermore
Enchantment
As this enchantment enters, choose a nonland card name.
Spells with the chosen name can't be cast.
"By the law of Avacyn, the following thoughts, words, and deeds are henceforth disallowed."
Jason A. Engle
Innistrad (ISD)
• #25Rulings
If you name one of the faces of a modal double-faced card, players may still play the face you didn't name. (Players can never cast the back face of a transforming double-faced card)
(wotc • 2021-03-19)
You can name either half of a split card, but not both. If you do so, that half (and both halves, if the split card has fuse) can't be cast. The other half is unaffected.
(wotc • 2011-09-22)
The named card can be cast again once Nevermore leaves the battlefield.
(wotc • 2011-09-22)
Spells with the chosen name that somehow happen to already be on the stack when Nevermore enters are not affected by Nevermore's ability.
(wotc • 2011-09-22)
Although the named card can't be cast, it can still be put onto the battlefield by a spell or ability (if it's a permanent card).
(wotc • 2011-09-22)
No one can cast spells or activate abilities between the time a card is named and the time that Nevermore's ability starts to work.
(wotc • 2011-09-22)
Rulings
If you name one of the faces of a modal double-faced card, players may still play the face you didn't name. (Players can never cast the back face of a transforming double-faced card)
(wotc • 2021-03-19)
You can name either half of a split card, but not both. If you do so, that half (and both halves, if the split card has fuse) can't be cast. The other half is unaffected.
(wotc • 2011-09-22)
The named card can be cast again once Nevermore leaves the battlefield.
(wotc • 2011-09-22)
Spells with the chosen name that somehow happen to already be on the stack when Nevermore enters are not affected by Nevermore's ability.
(wotc • 2011-09-22)
Although the named card can't be cast, it can still be put onto the battlefield by a spell or ability (if it's a permanent card).
(wotc • 2011-09-22)
No one can cast spells or activate abilities between the time a card is named and the time that Nevermore's ability starts to work.
(wotc • 2011-09-22)