Magic the Gathering Card - Thryx, the Sudden Storm - MTG Circle

Thryx, the Sudden Storm

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Legendary Creature — Elemental Giant

Flash (You may cast this spell any time you could cast an instant.)

Flying

Spells you cast with mana value 5 or greater cost Magic the Gathering mana symbol less to cast and can't be countered.

"I see no heroes upon this field. Only tinder awaiting my spark."

standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Legal
explorer
Legal
modern
Legal
historic
Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Legal
timeless
Legal

Rulings

For spells with {X} in their mana costs, use the value chosen for X to determine the spell's mana value.
(wotc2020-01-24)
A spell or ability that counters spells can still target spells you control with mana value 5 or greater. When that spell or ability resolves, your spell won't be countered, but any additional effects of the countering spell or ability will still happen.
(wotc2020-01-24)
To determine the total cost of a spell, start with the mana cost or alternative cost you're paying, add any cost increases, then apply any cost reductions (such as that of Thryx). The mana value of the spell remains unchanged, no matter what the total cost to cast it was.
(wotc2020-01-24)
Players can't attempt to remove Thryx to raise the cost of a spell you wish to cast, but they can remove it to allow their spells and abilities to counter your spells.
(wotc2020-01-24)
Thryx's last ability doesn't apply to itself while it's a spell.
(wotc2020-01-24)
If Thryx enters the battlefield while a spell with mana value 5 or greater that you cast is on the stack, that spell can't be countered, even though you don't get the {1} discount.
(wotc2020-01-24)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS