Narfi, Betrayer King
Legendary Snow Creature — Zombie Wizard
Other snow and Zombie creatures you control get +1/+1.
: Return this card from your graveyard to the battlefield tapped. (
can be paid with one mana from a snow source.)
Christopher Lovell
Kaldheim (KHM)
• #329Rulings
The {S} symbol is a generic mana symbol. It represents a cost that can be paid by one mana that was produced by a snow source. That mana can be any color or colorless.
(wotc • 2021-02-05)
Snow isn't a type of mana. If an effect says you may spend mana as though it were any type, you can't pay for {S} using mana that wasn't produced by a snow source.
(wotc • 2021-02-05)
Snow is a supertype, not a card type. It has no rules meaning or function by itself, but spells and abilities may refer to it.
(wotc • 2021-02-05)
Some cards have additional effects for each {S} spent to cast them. You can cast these spells even if you don't spend any snow mana to cast them; their additional effects simply won't do anything.
(wotc • 2021-02-05)
The Kaldheim set doesn't have any cards with mana costs that include {S}, but some previous sets do. If an effect says such a spell costs {1} less to cast, that reduction doesn't apply to any {S} costs. This is also true for activated abilities that include {S} in their activation costs and effects that reduce those costs.
(wotc • 2021-02-05)
Another snow Zombie creature you control will get only +1/+1 from Narfi's first ability.
(wotc • 2021-02-05)
Rulings
The {S} symbol is a generic mana symbol. It represents a cost that can be paid by one mana that was produced by a snow source. That mana can be any color or colorless.
(wotc • 2021-02-05)
Snow isn't a type of mana. If an effect says you may spend mana as though it were any type, you can't pay for {S} using mana that wasn't produced by a snow source.
(wotc • 2021-02-05)
Snow is a supertype, not a card type. It has no rules meaning or function by itself, but spells and abilities may refer to it.
(wotc • 2021-02-05)
Some cards have additional effects for each {S} spent to cast them. You can cast these spells even if you don't spend any snow mana to cast them; their additional effects simply won't do anything.
(wotc • 2021-02-05)
The Kaldheim set doesn't have any cards with mana costs that include {S}, but some previous sets do. If an effect says such a spell costs {1} less to cast, that reduction doesn't apply to any {S} costs. This is also true for activated abilities that include {S} in their activation costs and effects that reduce those costs.
(wotc • 2021-02-05)
Another snow Zombie creature you control will get only +1/+1 from Narfi's first ability.
(wotc • 2021-02-05)