Magic the Gathering Card - In the Darkness Bind Them - MTG Circle

In the Darkness Bind Them

Magic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbolMagic the Gathering mana symbol
Enchantment — Saga

(As this Saga enters and after your draw step, add a lore counter. Sacrifice after IV.)

IMagic the Gathering mana symbol, IIMagic the Gathering mana symbol, IIIMagic the Gathering mana symbol — Create a 3/3 black Wraith creature token with menace. The Ring tempts you.

IVMagic the Gathering mana symbol — For each opponent, gain control of up to one target creature that player controls until end of turn. Untap those creatures. They gain haste until end of turn. The Ring tempts you.

standard
Not Legal
alchemy
Not Legal
pioneer
Not Legal
explorer
Not Legal
modern
Not Legal
historic
Not Legal
standard brawl
Not Legal
historic brawl
Not Legal
timeless
Not Legal

Rulings

Each time the Ring tempts you, you must choose a creature if you control one.
(wotc2023-06-16)
When In the Darkness Bind Them's final chapter ability triggers, you can choose to target no creatures just so that the Ring tempts you. However, if you do choose at least one target, and all of those targets are illegal at the time the ability tries to resolve, the ability won't resolve and none of its effects will happen. The Ring won't tempt you.
(wotc2023-06-16)
If a creature targeted by In the Darkness Bind Them's final chapter ability changes controllers before the ability resolves, that creature is no longer a legal target.
(wotc2023-06-16)
While resolving In the Darkness Bind Them's first three chapter abilities, you can choose the Wraith token you just created to be your Ring-bearer as the Ring tempts you.
(wotc2023-06-16)
The Ring gains its abilities in order from top to bottom. Once it gains an ability, it has that ability for the rest of the game.
(wotc2023-06-16)
If the creature you choose as your Ring-bearer was already your Ring-bearer, that still counts as choosing that creature as your Ring-bearer for the purpose of abilities that trigger "whenever you choose a creature as your Ring-bearer" or abilities that care about which creature was chosen as your Ring-bearer.
(wotc2023-06-16)
Each player can have only one emblem named The Ring and only one Ring-bearer at a time.
(wotc2023-06-16)
The Ring can tempt you even if you don't control a creature. In this case, abilities that trigger "whenever the Ring tempts you" will still trigger.
(wotc2023-06-16)
As the Ring tempts you, you get an emblem named The Ring if you don't have one. Then your emblem gains its next ability and you choose a creature you control to become (or remain) your Ring-bearer.
(wotc2023-06-16)
Some spells and abilities that cause the Ring to tempt you may require targets. If each target chosen is an illegal target as that spell or ability tries to resolve, it won't resolve. The Ring won't tempt you.
(wotc2023-06-16)
logo

By joining our community, you can immerse yourself in MTG Arena gameplay. Watch matches, engage with content, comment, share thoughts, and rate videos for an interactive experience.

Follow Us

LATEST VIDEOS